An empty cinema


Yesterday at the cinema:

 

The two rows of seats in front of me are empty. So are the two rows behind me. Since I bought my ticket five minutes before the feature started I thought that I would have to get one of the few seats left. Instead I’m faced with the fact that there are only five persons, except me watching Cowboys and aliens this Monday eve.  I wonder why that is.

 

Maybe it’s a coincidence. It could just be that there wasn’t that many people interested in viewing Jon Favreaus sci-fi western epos today. But maybe it’s another symptom of the Irish economical crisis.

 

Reading other exchange students reports of Limerick and hearing others stories about the city, I had this picture in my mind of nights where folk music was heard from every overcrowded pub, the pulse of commerce and culture. The reality is another.

 

The fact of the matter is that the Celtic tiger is on its knees. It has been since 2008. In Limerick it’s evident. All over town there are closed shops, deserted constructions sights and the pubs aren’t as full as they used to be.

 

And the seats at the cinema are empty.

 

 


Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0